Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Comprehensive Forum of Canadian Armed Forces History & Militaria

Dr. Roy Walcott Davis

mk1rceme
    mk1rceme
    Administrator

Dr. Roy Walcott Davis Empty Dr. Roy Walcott Davis

Post by mk1rceme Sat Dec 05, 2009 1:22 am

Dr. Roy Walcott Davis Dr%20Roy%20Walcott%20Davis%20%20A Dr. Roy Walcott Davis Dr%20Roy%20Walcott%20Davis%20B Dr. Roy Walcott Davis Dr%20Roy%20Walcott%20Davis%20C

I was born in Truro, Nova Scotia on 10 April 1922. My father E.W. Davis worked in the insurance business and my mother Carrie nee McCulloch worked as a homemaker. I was the youngest of four children. My two older brothers, who also served in World War II, were Gray and Murray and my older sister was Pauline. In 1939 I graduated from CCA (Truro).

I joined the Royal Canadian Air Force in Ottawa on 3 April 1941 and took my Basic Training in Toronto. On 27 April 1942 I was commissioned as a Navigator and was posted to Dorval, Quebec with Royal Air Force Ferry Command. I delivered 16 aircraft from the U.S.A.; Nassau, Bahamas; and Canada. My best friend Fred MacAllister and myself made a trip across the ocean at the same time and by finding someone in a high position, (Groupie at least), we talked him into transferring us to 6 Group (Canadian) Bomber Group. We were probably the only two that voluntarily transferred to Bomber Command. On our 5th trip to Kiel, Fred was posted Missing In Action.