opinions on this battledress

    Share

    barriefield-brian
    Member

    Posts : 159
    Join date : 2012-06-16

    opinions on this battledress

    Post by barriefield-brian on Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:13 pm






     My buddy in the Netherlands gave me this battledress dated 1943. Looks good to me but I am certainly no expert. Cheers Brian

    blitzkrieghenk
    Member

    Posts : 33
    Join date : 2009-12-20
    Age : 39
    Location : Hijken,Holland

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by blitzkrieghenk on Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:39 am

    What do you want to now? If the Bd is orinaly badged?

    barriefield-brian
    Member

    Posts : 159
    Join date : 2012-06-16

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by barriefield-brian on Sun Apr 05, 2015 11:37 am

    Yes, wanted opinions on originality. Seems there are so many made -up ones out there. Cheers Brian

    ypres
    Member

    Posts : 250
    Join date : 2014-08-13

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by ypres on Sun Apr 05, 2015 6:18 pm

    Any chance you can get clearer photos?

    Ypres

    recceboy
    Member

    Posts : 221
    Join date : 2009-11-26
    Location : Edmonton, Alberta

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by recceboy on Mon Apr 06, 2015 1:29 pm

    WNSR shoulder flash looks purple, might be the flash.Should be red/maroon in colour. Yes, good photos of the sleeves badges would be great.

    A

    barriefield-brian
    Member

    Posts : 159
    Join date : 2012-06-16

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by barriefield-brian on Mon Apr 06, 2015 8:59 pm








    Not the best photographer but here it is. Will stay in my collection regardless but just nice to know. Cheers Brian

    Bill
    Moderator

    Posts : 983
    Join date : 2009-11-28

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by Bill on Tue Apr 07, 2015 6:22 am

    Brian, Is there any evidence of a second star on the epaulets?

    barriefield-brian
    Member

    Posts : 159
    Join date : 2012-06-16

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by barriefield-brian on Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:09 pm

    Cant tell Bill but I did a burn test on the thread, looks like nylon. Cheers Brian

    Bill
    Moderator

    Posts : 983
    Join date : 2009-11-28

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by Bill on Tue Apr 07, 2015 2:52 pm

    Hi Brian, The CANADA's are a bit unusual in colour, but appear to have the cut marks? (Or am I seeing something not there?)
    Biggest concern, IIRC, is that 2nd Lts. were not posted to active battalions.

    edstorey
    Member

    Posts : 828
    Join date : 2012-06-03

    BD Blouse

    Post by edstorey on Tue Apr 07, 2015 3:04 pm

    Who is the manufacturer of the blouse?

    barriefield-brian
    Member

    Posts : 159
    Join date : 2012-06-16

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by barriefield-brian on Tue Apr 07, 2015 4:28 pm

    Bill wrote:Hi Brian, The CANADA's are a bit unusual in colour, but appear to have the cut marks? (Or am I seeing something not there?)
    Biggest concern, IIRC, is that 2nd Lts. were not posted to active battalions.

    Yes they do have the cut marks, just look newer than the other flashes. Cant tell if there were any other stars on the epaulettes. Cheers Brian

    barriefield-brian
    Member

    Posts : 159
    Join date : 2012-06-16

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by barriefield-brian on Tue Apr 07, 2015 4:35 pm

    edstorey wrote:Who is the manufacturer of the blouse?



    Faded quite a bit. Can make out ???EARL CL???NG CO Maybe Montreal. I would have to do some research on manufacturers. Cheers Brian

    Infanteer
    Member

    Posts : 804
    Join date : 2009-12-11

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by Infanteer on Tue Apr 07, 2015 9:43 pm

    It may be the photography but the color of the letters of the Canada titles seems unusually light/bright. I'm not a fan of the appearance of the machine stitching and when you stated that your burn test indicated nylon thread that was a serious red flag for me. The insignia appears beat up but not necessarily aged. I'm not convinced at this point that it's an original piece.

    Sponsored content

    Re: opinions on this battledress

    Post by Sponsored content Today at 1:05 am


      Current date/time is Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:05 am