opinions needed

    Share

    muskey124
    Member

    Posts : 60
    Join date : 2014-02-25

    opinions needed

    Post by muskey124 on Mon Jun 08, 2015 6:27 am

    I came across this webbing, and since I don't have any I thought about picking it up. The person only wants $20 for it. What do you thing, is it worth the 20 plus shipping.  I'm thinking it might clean up pretty good. That's if I can remember how we use to clean it.
    [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
    [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
    [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

    Bill
    Moderator

    Posts : 983
    Join date : 2009-11-28

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by Bill on Mon Jun 08, 2015 6:31 am

    What markings, if any can be seen, are on the webbing?

    muskey124
    Member

    Posts : 60
    Join date : 2014-02-25

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by muskey124 on Mon Jun 08, 2015 6:36 am

    These are all the pictures that I was sent, I ask for pictures of the back and asked about any markings, but I haven't heard back yet.

    pylon1357
    Global Moderator

    Posts : 1211
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Location : Resting on my laurels in Ottawa

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by pylon1357 on Mon Jun 08, 2015 7:13 am

    As already stated, it would depend on the markings really. It looks pretty dirty but if war time dated and marked, I personally would take the leap as wartime belts are getting scare, especially one that still has the rear tabs.


    _________________
    Cliff

    [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

    ypres
    Member

    Posts : 249
    Join date : 2014-08-13

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by ypres on Mon Jun 08, 2015 7:16 am

    In my opinion $20 is a good deal. Some guys only like unissued web; but for me, this set has the "Been There" look. Just make sure the pieces are all wartime dated and Canadian or British marked if that's what you are after...

    Good luck,

    Ypres

    48th
    Member

    Posts : 266
    Join date : 2012-12-05

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by 48th on Mon Jun 08, 2015 9:14 am

    I don't think it is that bad of a deal in my opinion. Especially if they are WWII dated as has already been stated.

    jholl72
    Administrator

    Posts : 812
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Age : 44
    Location : Ontario, Canada

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by jholl72 on Mon Jun 08, 2015 4:03 pm

    I'd buy it for $20!


    _________________
    Regards,
    Jeff

    clem01
    Member

    Posts : 53
    Join date : 2013-02-17
    Location : Montréal, QC

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by clem01 on Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:14 pm

    Hi,

    Same opinion than Jeff, for 20$ I would buy it. The coherent used condition and if used not sure that all the items are dated. Moreover, from my experience of purchase from non-collector, if you wait for an answer you can wait a long time because they do not really care if its a dated, canadian or british broad arrow, makers...and are often not really quick for answering but faster for selling.

    Just my opinion

    Clement

    muskey124
    Member

    Posts : 60
    Join date : 2014-02-25

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by muskey124 on Tue Jun 09, 2015 4:52 am

    Thanks for your input guys. The only thing I know about this webbing is that it is p37 issue. I don't collect webbing, so I didn't know if that is a good price. I thought it would go great with my Brodie helmet, and 105 shell, and make a nice little display.

    Bill
    Moderator

    Posts : 983
    Join date : 2009-11-28

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by Bill on Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:24 am

    For the asking price and the purpose for which you intend to use it, I would go for it. (Just watch out for the post. It is nearly impossible to ship anything that size, depending on destination, for under $12 by CP.)

    muskey124
    Member

    Posts : 60
    Join date : 2014-02-25

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by muskey124 on Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:45 am

    That was my concern was the total including shipping. It's in Nova Scotia and I'm in Ont. I know the minimum would be $12, but I'm thinking more around the $20 mark, which would put the total around $40 is it still worth it then

    Bill
    Moderator

    Posts : 983
    Join date : 2009-11-28

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by Bill on Tue Jun 09, 2015 8:27 am

    If you think it would go good in your display, and you can live with the price, go for it.

    jholl72
    Administrator

    Posts : 812
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Age : 44
    Location : Ontario, Canada

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by jholl72 on Tue Jun 09, 2015 1:17 pm

    I agree with what Bill said, its up to you to decide if its worth it to you! Thats the final test, you can ask for our opinion all day long and you will get different answers as worth and value are subjective.
    If it helps, I would still pay $40 for the group...you can spend more than that for an average dinner out with your significant other...but the webbing will last forever lol


    _________________
    Regards,
    Jeff

    LSR
    Member

    Posts : 139
    Join date : 2010-11-19
    Location : Twente- The Netherlands

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by LSR on Tue Jun 09, 2015 1:24 pm

    Buy it, the belt is Canadian the holster to.
    And do not clean it, water and soap/detergent will ruin it.
    Leave just as it is it will make a nice display.

    Bill
    Moderator

    Posts : 983
    Join date : 2009-11-28

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by Bill on Fri Jun 19, 2015 5:24 am

    A similar set of webbing on ebay. Not sure it will realize the buy it now price, but it is worth watching. [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

    Sponsored content

    Re: opinions needed

    Post by Sponsored content Today at 7:11 pm


      Current date/time is Sat Dec 10, 2016 7:11 pm