Flag icon opinions

    Share
    avatar
    mk1rceme
    Administrator

    Posts : 2197
    Join date : 2009-11-22
    Age : 46
    Location : Alberta, Canada

    Flag icon opinions

    Post by mk1rceme on Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:13 pm

    As some of you may have noticed I have placed icons in some of the categories depicting the war the category represents.

    I found that while skimming through the forum index, wanting to go to the WWII category, I would end up in the WWI category because the look so similar. I have not found a representative flag for these categories as of yet and was wondering if the community thinks this is an ok idea.

    If so, what flag do you think would best represent these categories? The only ideas I've had so far for WWI & II would be the Imperial and Third Reich flags of Germany. Not sure if I want to bring the TR into the mix, but this is who Canada fought. As far as Pre-WWI, I was thinking the old ensign flag.

    Opinions?


    _________________
    Dale
    Admin-CMCF
    avatar
    mk1rceme
    Administrator

    Posts : 2197
    Join date : 2009-11-22
    Age : 46
    Location : Alberta, Canada

    Re: Flag icon opinions

    Post by mk1rceme on Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:33 am

    anyone? hmmm


    _________________
    Dale
    Admin-CMCF
    avatar
    GCR817
    Moderator

    Posts : 275
    Join date : 2009-11-25
    Location : Edmonton, AB

    Re: Flag icon opinions

    Post by GCR817 on Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:37 am

    Hi Dale,

    I like your idea of using flags to mark sections. I am fond of the ensign and I suppose if you wish to split hairs, you could use the 7 Prov ensign for Pre WW1, 9 Prov for WW1 and the ensign for WW2. Although, the 7 and 9 prov look very similar.

    Cheers,

    Geoff
    avatar
    mk1rceme
    Administrator

    Posts : 2197
    Join date : 2009-11-22
    Age : 46
    Location : Alberta, Canada

    Re: Flag icon opinions

    Post by mk1rceme on Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:39 pm

    Yeah, the 7 province ensign would be ok for pre-WWI. Only problem is that the icons are so small the different ensigns all look alike, so they won't work on WWI & II. I tried this out already and I couldn't tell the difference. We need something different for WWI & II unfortunately.


    _________________
    Dale
    Admin-CMCF

    Sponsored content

    Re: Flag icon opinions

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:08 am