Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Comprehensive Forum of Canadian Armed Forces History & Militaria

5 posters

A nice find, but I need help...WWI Hate Belt

Spitfire
    Spitfire

A nice find, but I need help...WWI Hate Belt Empty A nice find, but I need help...WWI Hate Belt

Post by Spitfire Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:38 pm

First off, let me confess that I am not a collector, although I've been an avid amateur historian and military buff for over 50 years. Because I buy and sell on eBay frequently, I was approached by a local widow to dispose of some military memorabilia for her, consisting of 33 brass buttons, shoulder bars, cap badges, etc. Included are the 202 Sportsmens Battalion fron Edmonton, Cape Breton Highlanders, Royal N.W. Mounted Police, and many others that I can't yet identify.

I'd like to post some pictures, but first I have a question. All of these items are in great shape, with lugs intact, but they are all oxidized to one extent or another, making it difficult for my old eyes to make out what they are. Is it OK to clean these items with something like Brasso? I don't want to do anything to harm the value, as the proceeds go to the widow, and not to me. As soon as I get an answer, I'll post some pics.

BTW, Spitfire was chosen as a handle because my Dad was with a Spitfire Squadron of the RAF during WWII. Thanks for your time.
    Infanteer
    Infanteer

A nice find, but I need help...WWI Hate Belt Empty Re: A nice find, but I need help...WWI Hate Belt

Post by Infanteer Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:50 pm

Can you show some photos of the items before you do anything to clean them? Depending on how bad the corrosion is it might be best to leave them as is and let the new owners decide whether or not to clean them.
    Spitfire
    Spitfire