Need help with

gimpycanuck

Need help with

Post by gimpycanuck on Tue Aug 23, 2016 9:53 am

Hi all, I am new at researching my Uncle's 2nd World war record, sadly he passed in 1972 plus I have very little to go on as my Uncle came from a strong Mennonite community, and from what I have learned his was not a popular choice. As a Mennonite myself I feel cut of the same cloth as my Uncle and remember him fondly. I am unclear but from snippets I have received from family he served with the Lord Strathcona Horse as a dispatch rider as well as tanker. He was slightly wounded by shrapnel while in service. I want to learn as much as I can, as my love and interest in WWII was born from the mystique of my Uncles service in the war. What direction and information should I need for this research, as little is available from my family.
    [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Secondly, and certainly less important to me is the identification of a patch that I believe may have been 2nd World War vintage. It is a very unique patch, as I have never seen one before and all research has let me to a dead end. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

I could use any help I can get, especially with the research on my Uncle's war record

pylon1357
    Global Moderator

Re: Need help with

Post by pylon1357 on Tue Aug 23, 2016 11:58 am

For your uncles service. Contact the LAC (Library and Archives Canada) I have provided a link that should guide you through the ordering process. If you have any questions regarding the process, post them and someone here will likely be along to help out.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Bill

Post by Bill on Wed Aug 24, 2016 7:08 am

Fort Churchill was the site of rocket testing post war. Both Canadian and US forces were involved, plus government and non-government agencies.

Bill

Post by Bill on Wed Aug 24, 2016 7:10 am