Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Canadian Military Collectors Forum

Comprehensive Forum of Canadian Armed Forces History & Militaria

James Frederick May

mk1rceme
    mk1rceme
    Administrator

James Frederick May Empty James Frederick May

Post by mk1rceme Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:05 am

James Frederick May James%20Frederick%20May James Frederick May James%20Frederick%20May%20B

My name is James Frederick May, but my friends call me Jim. I was born on 9 August 1924 in Chatham, New Brunswick. My father Richard was a cook by trade and my mother Eva Sarah Latullippe was a homemaker. The oldest sibling was a girl, then came six boys of which I was the youngest and then another girl. Out of eight children I am the only one surviving.

In June 1941 I left school at the age of 16 and joined The North Shore New Brunswick Regiment. I completed Basic Training in Fredericton, New Brunswick and after Basic I was sent to Aldershot, Nova Scotia. I was a Clerk by trade. Three months later I boarded a ship in Halifax to go overseas. It was pretty rough going over but it really didn’t bother me. It’s been said a good New Brunswicker never gets seasick!

Throughout World War II, I was in England, Scotland, Sicily, Italy, France, Belgium, Netherlands, back to England and thank God, home again! A funny thing that happened, which always stuck with me, was when I was in Italy. We were landing on water and the guy in front of me wouldn’t or couldn’t move due to the fact that he couldn’t swim. I had to give him a little push and in just three feet of water he went under. I ended up going in after him.

For a short while during the war I was a stretcher bearer. Just after we went into The Gully we walked into a trip - it was a killing ground. We lost 39 soldiers there and the hardest part was that I had to carry out a lot of my friends. Trust me, I went back to Clerking some quick!